I learned this year in a converstaion with my father a few things about happiness and about myself. I learned that somewhere along the line in my development, I became unhappy. I was able to stray from it in certain instances, however it has largely haunted me. I found this article very enlightening on the subject.

And I saw what had been missing: pride. He’d lost pride in himself. Maybe that’s what happens when our egos take a hit in midlife and we realize we’re not as young and golden anymore.

When life’s knocked us around. And our childhood myths reveal themselves to be just that. The truth feels like the biggest sucker-punch of them all: it’s not a spouse or land or a job or money that brings us happiness. Those achievements, those relationships, can enhance our happiness, yes, but happiness has to start from within. Relying on any other equation can be lethal.

Great article, you should read it.

