An extremely good friend of mine has an aversion to celery. She dislikes it so much that the smell(?), sight, or even mention makes her nauseous. I keep commenting to her that she should go to a hypnotist to get that corrected, a comment that we both kind of laugh off, even though i’m completely serious. In her defense she eats a very wholesome and varied diet, much more so than the average person, as well as routinely visits the farmers market. Although for me, I would have to attack that celery issue from a standpoint of programming, one of my philosophical cornerstones. For if I thought, as I do, that beets are luxurious, carrots are addictive, and fennel is sublime, why then would I hate celery? (She adores rhubarb?) This mire poix mishap can and should be corrected in the sub-conscious.

I can usually tell a good deal about how well i’m going to get along with someone by the way that they eat. I especially dislike those that have “food texture” issues; I cringe when I hear someone say they don’t like the texture of something. I’m all for critiquing food with a scalpel, however to reject on these grounds in my eyes is akin to disliking a wine because of it’s bottle. In reading a recent NY Times article about Cilantro, it is clear that the brain chemistry makes itself known through preferences in appetite and taste. I almost always get along with gastronomically advanced individuals, as diverse a group they usually are. Picky people I find a perverse, handicapped group. It makes poor sense to me to raise children on a “Children’s Menu.” It is no secret I am a large human being, and I credit my health and rapid development on adequate nutrition, as opposed to pasta with butter and salt. Such behavior I feel leads to obesity, malnutrition, and a general lack of dietary intelligence.

Yet for me it goes a step further; picky people are the first to perish in an evolutionary bottle neck.

Why should I care what other people eat? Well, I suppose our ancestors were thinking the same thing about 70,000 years ago when the Toba Catastrophe occurred. I’m sure they were eating whatever they could find after such an event. Evolution is adaptation, and true while most of the changes we undergo are done at the molecular level, I believe that we must force ourselves to try new things – all the time. A step further would be to understand why we dislike the things we do. I mean come on, everyone likes the taste of meat – you’ve just convinced yourself you don’t. Otherwise a volcano will erupt rendering chicken fingers poisonous and leaving celery the only surviving crop. A great deal of people won’t make it.

