Ben Stein had some interesting insights on the subject of love a while back, and I most recently re-read them.

In general, and with rare exceptions, the returns in love situations are roughly proportional to the amount of time and devotion invested. The amount of love you get from an investment in love is correlated, if only roughly, to the amount of yourself you invest in the relationship.

Roughly indeed. I often question ideas like love and their universal acceptance. From an analytical standpoint, can one truly believe in love if there is little evidence for it other than brain waves? I feel the similar about karma. Why should I believe  if I don’t have any proof, if there is nothing to measure, no correlations? I don’t seek to marginalize feeling and emotion, yet I have a tenancy to disbelieve anything without proof. To me, if someone can put an electrode to my head and produce love, then maybe what we think of as love is something else, a byproduct of evolution designed to make us a more successful species.

I recently engaged in some pretty spirited conversation about the subject of morals/ethics. Can there exist a universal standard of what is ethical or moral? I love love love the TED talk regarding the subject because it argues yes in a scientific way. I don’t like how individuals argue that we should be tolerant of other ideals simply because other people hold them sacrosanct. As Aristotle would urge I agree we must entertain all thoughts, yet I think a line should be drawn at behavior / ideologies that are shielded from reason and the scythe of the scientific method simply because they are traditional.

Bottom line if an idea / belief/ practice is irrational it should be reevaluated. Rational by who’s standard? Science. There can be no other standard.

