Tags

, ,

So this conversation started with me posting on fb a Nietzsche quote

‎”Faith: not wanting to know what is true.”
Friedrich Nietzsche

I received  a Voltaire response, oh the religious argument
“Faith consists in believing when it is beyond the power of reason to believe.”
― Voltaire

And reading this i’m thinking.. what? Why would you want to believe beyond the power of reason? Let us be unreasonable men and women? It reminded me of The Godfather:
Tattaglia: But I must have strict assurance from Corleone. As time goes by and his position becomes stronger, will he attempt any individual vendetta?
Don Barzini: Look, we are all reasonable men here. We don’t have to give assurances as if we were lawyers.

Not really related, but a great scene..

Anyway, so I respond, “why would you want to go beyond the power of reason and be unreasonable..baa baa”

And I get the classic argument, the “I would rather be ignorant and happy”

I suppose it is someone’s free choice, but I personally would want to know that I should be enjoying every last wallow in the mud – if I was a pig living in the slaughterhouse.

My response:

“That is because a sheep cannot comprehend, even while being dragged to the abattoir, that there might be something after his life. Sheep are slaves to their environments, slaves to natural selection. A sheep is ignorant, that is why it is sheared and slaughtered. Though I may have been born a sheep, in my mirror stares a wolf.”

