Tags

, , , ,

In my endless pursuit of all things Korean my new friend and ambassador to the marvelous world of K-Town suggested we try Kobawoo House. The value here certainly made me want to dance.

Image

Long been a selection on Jabba the Hut’s (Jonathan Gold) 99 Essential list I’ve was eager to check the place out. Very glad that I did.

scratch (7 of 8)

On a Friday lunch this place was packed. The combination lunch was only $10! That alone will make me a frequent customer.

The kimchi pancake that we started with was excellent (which we opted for instead of the seafood, my usual beat). It had a great texture, although I would’ve preferred it a bit hotter. My friend mentioned that it isn’t as good once it gets cold which proved indeed true.

scratch (4 of 8)

I’m starting to realize what a bad blogger I am in barely remembering to take pictures. I was post leg workout and starving at the beginning of this meal. The banchan (side dishes) were medium plus quality.

scratch (2 of 8)

Banchan are often my favorite part of the meal and here they did not disappoint but, did not blow me away. One of the reasons why I love FarmShop is the attention to side dishes, and their ubiquitous presence in all of the dishes there.  The kimchi was probably the best of the 4 that came promptly to the table. Nice crunch and texture but slightly lacking on the garlic and heat. 

scratch (1 of 8)

The dish we were after is Bossam, basically a korean style taco of pork belly wrapped by hand in cabbage with dried radish, coated in a piquant chilly sauce, and topped with a shrimp paste. I particularly liked the shrimp paste.

scratch (5 of 8)

I’m always happy to be eating any sort of radish, they are so crunchy and great for digestion. Great first date food.

scratch (6 of 8)

On the side came what was explained to me as a Korean style miso soup. This is piping hot and DELICIOUS. I couldn’t believe that all of this was only 10$. I loved the flavors and the spices here, slightly nutty, creamy, and rich.

As we were finishing the meal, I noticed a curious machine next to the door. The choices were apparently coffee vs. tea. I decided on tea and I was offered a fantastic black sesame tea upon exit. This was gritty, sweet, and delicious – almost like warm oatmeal. Really enjoyed it, although it was a little too hot outside for such a warm beverage.

scratch (8 of 8)

I was told these machines are all over Korea; I started searching craigslist to put one in my living room.

